Shameless Pitch

23 May

Hi blog…I’ve got things I want to write to you, but because neural science has, not without irony, proven to be horribly taxing on my brain, I haven’t had time to muse here about my reproductive status and ponder my upcoming doctor’s appointments.

Another thing that’s been keeping me busy? Training for a half marathon.

Ok, bloglandia, I can hear you groaning from here, but I’ve got cancer and I’m fundraising for cancer survivors so you’re pretty much karmically obligated to read on.

I’m on my medical school’s marathon team, we’re raising money for a great local start-up called Steps to Wellness.  This awesome organization provides FREE physical rehabilitation, fitness training, and all around wellness support to people who are in some stage of recovering from cancer and chemotherapy.  If you’ve read any of my posts before, you know how incredibly important exercise was to me during treatment and afterwards.  Psychologically, using my body in a physical way helped me to feel like my body was my own.  Not my enemy and not the property of the doctors.  Physically, there’s boatloads of research that indicates that exercise help prevents cancer from coming back.  ‘Nuff said.

So, please, follow the link and give these good folks some money.  I promise I’m sweating for it and I’ll put some pictures up of me red faced and gape mouthed as I finish the 13.1 miles this Sunday.

Thanks.

Click HERE to donate.  Or copy and paste the link from below!

http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/colleenkerrigan/uvm-medical-marathon-team?utm_medium=share&utm_campaign=share&utm_source=at-facebook&utm_content=eua#.T0p7UOCBGvg.facebook

 

Leave a Reply

