What Would Jens Voigt Do?

19 Jul

I went for a little 25 mile ride today…it looked kind of like this:

don't worry, those are only "category 5" climbs

I did 45 miles this past Sunday and will do another 35 on Thursday, but this was kind of hot and kind of hard, so since I haven’t written in a while I thought I’d bore you to death with what preoccupies me these days since my CT scans are clean and my CA-125 is 3.

Stage 1: Driving home to take a bike ride

– Yeah! Going for a bike ride!  Love riding my bike! Woooh!

Stage 2: Getting ready

– Did I forget helmet? Water? Fig Newtons? Gloves? Sunglasses? Sunblock? Oooh, I really need to clean this bike….

– Put air in tires which, despite it never having happened, always makes me think they’ll burst into a billion pieces of horrible shrapnel so I make wincing faces each time I push the pump down

Stage 3: Warm-up

– Wow.  I’ve done this before?  It doesn’t feel like I’ve done this before – maybe something is wrong with the bike.  That must be it.  I’d better go home.

Stage 4: Climb 1

– Oh.  No.  I remember how to do this!  This feels good.  Yeah!  Imma crank right the hell up this hill.  Stupid hill!

Stage 5: Climb 2

– Ow.  I have a splinter.  I’d better go home.

– Stop on hill (dumbest idea ever)…get eaten by mosquitoes….have to try three times to restart because stupid hill is so steep I can’t get going properly….nearly ditch bike in neighboring ravine

– Pass scene of car accident…frantically weave to avoid shattered glass

***Keep in mind I’m also self narrating my entire ride in the voices of the announcers for the Tour de France.  So two older British dudes in my head are saying things like “Awh, what is rider Kerrigan fussing with now?  Is that?  Is that a bit of a splinter in her right hand?  Oh – she JUST missed that pile of windshield on the course!”****

Stage 6: Descent

– Yee-haw!  42.5 mph! Beautiful scenery flying by!  Feeling like a champion!

Stage 7: Climb 3

– Get yelled at by strangers out their car windows (why is this ever ok? because it’s always a good idea to alarm a cyclist you are speeding by…)

– Get fooled by slight plateau mid-climb and start bolting up hill…toast at top

Stage 8: Climb 4

– Feeling pretty fast after little mini descent, crank away up the last hill, fantasize that I’m in the Tour de France and pretend to grimace like Jens Voigt

Finish:  Sweaty, hot, DIRTY and totally smugly pleased with self.  Then nearly dump the bike in the driveway because I’m so self congratulatory I forget to unclip and lean the wrong way.  Save at last minute.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’m feeling really good these days.  There’s lots of things that fill up my days and my mind, but a lot of the time it’s not cancer – so I haven’t written in a while.  I go back up to medical school in 2 weeks.  I have a new place to live that I really like.  I worry about things like money and boys and work and what color to put on my toenails…not cancer.  I go to the beach.  I fanatically follow the Tour de France.  I’m reading James Joyce and coveting a mountain bike.  I’m considering dyeing my hair platinum and weighing potential locations for my next tattoo.  I really love the BBC’s remake of Sherlock Holmes.

These are the things on my mind now.  So yeah.  This blog’s about to get real boring folks!  In all honesty, I’m probably going to hang up my blogging spurs.  Maybe I’ll press on, we’ll see.  It’s been fun.  Today seems like a good day to officially take a hiatus – it was my last day at my chemo ward.  From here on out, I’ll be continuing my care up in VT.  Not going to lie, I got a little verklempt at the office today, but I know I’m not rid of them yet – they are my people.  The people who saved my life.  And now, my life (my LIFE) is moving forward and I’m a negligent blogger anyhow.

Don’t worry, I’ll play myself out.

7 Responses to “What Would Jens Voigt Do?”

  1. kathy bryson July 19, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    you are and have always been so fucking awesome…xoxoxoxo

  2. Liza July 20, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    If the price of being a negligent blogger is a happy camper, than I am all for it!!
    Although I must say your blogs are a work of art….So, even if you do so infrequently, I would still look forward to your news…..After all, life after illness is still about life as impacted by this monumental event. You have inspired us all and would continue to do so! (What can I say…I am far away aunt and selfishly want to hear from you every once in awhile!) Love you Colleen!! Always will…..

  3. Barbara Call July 20, 2011 at 1:21 am #

    dear collbeeny: YOU have not been boring for one moment; I’m so glad you’ve turned into such a biker ~ perfect for someone at the peak of existance, like you!

    Sending infinite Love, Barbara

  4. Marg July 20, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    What would Jens Voigt do? If he knew you he would lay down in front of you and pledge his undying admiration for your spirit and bravery as we all do, darling Colleen. So happy for medical school to start but I do think you may think of things to blog about, so keep it coming. You have so many fans who have so much love for you, even Jens would be a bit jealous.
    Love,
    Aunt Marg

  5. Tony August 3, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    Learn to ride a bicycle. You will not regret it if you live.

    ~Mark Twain

    • thezebrachronicles August 4, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

      You leave the BEST comments, Tony.

      • Tony August 4, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

        It was too perfect a quote to waste. I check in every few month to see how you are doing. Even if you give up the blog, I don’t think you should give up writing. You have a gift for weaving media, humor, feelings, events and acquired wisdom into a readable flow.

        You come by that talent honestly and it suits you.

Leave a Reply

