Priscilla

22 Mar

Last week, my mom, sister and I went down to the city and saw:

Oh yeah.  It was fabulous.

There was some of this:

And this:

And more like this:

 

Now.  Confession.  This is so embarrassing that I didn’t even tell my sister and my mom at the time.  In the show, they sing “I Will Survive”, right?  And it’s like a huge, all cast number and everyone looks fabulous and is dancing like they mean it and it’s wonderful, ok?  You have the image.  Now, maybe it was the two glasses of Pinot Grigio at lunch or the stress from the new puppy, but at this point in the show I start to get a little choked up.  Yes, this campy rendition of a 1978 disco hit made me get all EMOTIONAL.  I guess having such a great time, with people I love so much while watching people just get down with their bad selves really made me realize, that, well, I’m going to survive and I am so excited about that.  Totally silly, but totally true.

Now, I was never REALLY dying…I never saw my life flash before my eyes and no one would ever describe me as “terminal”….but, well, I think maybe Royal Tenenbaum after his faux “pretty bad case of the cancer” said it best:

ROYAL: Richie, this illness, this closeness to death…it’s had a profound affect on me. I feel like a different person, I really do.

RICHIE: Dad, you were never dying.

ROYAL: …but I’m gonna live.

This continues to hit me at strange moments, not just during musicals about drag queens.  It happens early in the morning, late at night, while walking the dogs, while reading a good book, while sitting on the porch watching the super perigee moon rise, while walking up the steps in Grand Central Station, while cooking and talking and dancing with Chris, while laughing and gossiping with my family, and so on.  I feel a new sense of my own fragility, of life’s fragility, but in a way that’s the place where these mini bursts of celebration come from.  I’m alive!  And I could not be!  And it’s not going to last forever! Let’s enjoy!

On that note, let’s have some soul, shall we?

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Priscilla”

  1. Amy March 22, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    Omgoodness. This seemed like such a cool show. And Im really happy for you and am glad your doing well. I love reading your blog. They make me laugh, tear up, giggle, smile….and realize life is short and precious.
    Let me know if you ever visit Danielson. I’ll come say hello.
    Amy

  2. Barbara Call March 22, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    Hi Colleen Dahling:

    Queen of the Living; keep watching those drag queens over and over, get the DVD; lots and lots of comedy is recommended and go to wwwwayseermanifesto.com for an uplift whenever you need to know how truly unique/fabulous you really are. Your experience with mortality will make you the best doctor in the world. Love ya to pieces, Barb

  3. Liza Kerrigan March 22, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    Well….speaking as one who does get emotional….I think this blog is pure poetry! You have developed your messages into an art form! Pop and profound! Good choice on Solomon Burke saying it all……We do need You! You! You! (and all of us…)

    XXXOOO

  4. Mama-Zebra March 31, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    me too! ha ha!

Leave a Reply

