Patsy Cline Kerrigan-Wenz

17 Mar

We have a new family member!

Yup.  That sweet face of a monster is our newest addition.

We adopted Patsy from Arkansas and she’s some kind of Australian Cattle Dog mix.  She’s about 15 weeks old and a total butthead.  But we love her.

straight offa da' truck

She’s named after this lady: She does sort of take after her namesake as far as I can tell.  Stubborn, sassy and independent.  Maybe she’ll learn to sing, but I’d settle for learning to sit.

Having a puppy is currently a lot like having a small child.  She is mobile, but has little to no brain.  I have to watch her every second otherwise she will definitely find some kind of trouble whether it is chewing on the rug/chair/remote/plant stand/plant or peeing somewhere totally inappropriate.  I also wake up at least twice in the middle of the night to take her out to pee because she’s crying.  When she’s not in trouble, she’s usually sleeping.  If she doesn’t get enough sleep, a lot like a kid, she becomes totally ornery and obsessed with doing exactly the opposite of what you want her to do.  Aside from all that, she’s a great pup and is going to be a super dog when she grows up.  She’s also incredibly cute and soft and wiggly and loves to lick your face.

she also sleeps upside down

We’ve got big plans for this little one.  Frisbee catching plans to be specific.  So we spend a lot of time throwing these junior puppy frisbees around.  For now, when we do this, Patsy just looks bewildered.  We’re working on it.

working hard

Penny and Patsy pretty much adore each other and spend their time like this:

Or like this:

It hasn’t all been super fun…there’s always the joy of house-training, the trials and tribulations of crate-training, the dismay of chewed shoes…but this will pass.  It was a hard time for her to arrive too, since I had like, a billion doctor’s appointments this week, but Chris saved the day and has been a marvelous puppy-sitter.  When I get frustrated I just try to think of the blissful hours we’ll spend in the park, throwing the frisbee.  We’re also really happy Penny has a buddy now.  Honestly, despite the work, I always want more dogs, but for now the two will do.  If only to preserve poor Chris’s sanity.  She’s my cancer bravery reward.  I’m so glad to have her.

The past few days have been all about puppies and doctor’s visits and the warm weather making me all twitchy to ride my bike, but I’ve got a couple of fun posts coming in the next few days.  I don’t want to make this post any longer now, but good news and good times abound!  Stay tuned!

Here’s some more Patsy to play you out…

4 Responses to “Patsy Cline Kerrigan-Wenz”

  1. Ireland March 17, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    I am so happy for you guys/a bit jealous! Patsy is super cute and Penny gets a play buddy. I am sad I won’t get to meet them next month at the no mo’ chemo bash. I will set an alarm to call during the p’tay so I might get to talk to everyone.

    ireland

  2. Neal March 18, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    All Australian dogs sleep upside down. Duh…Australia?

  3. Mama-Zebra March 18, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    I created the “bravery reward” many, many years ago as an incentive for my children at the doctor’s office…a small treat promised for tolerating discomfort or real pain with grace and dignity. No whining or crying for a shot, or a procedure like stitches…WHO KNEW???? Ha, Ha!

  4. Tony May 1, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    advice: Find this dog a good job. Otherwise she will find one on her own…..and there is a good chance you won’t like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

