Homestretch

8 Feb

First of all, so wonderful to read what everyone has been doing to keep them powering through these cold, snowy, ice ridden months!  Your happy things made me happy.

So, I’m officially in my last round of chemo.  Last Thursday, after some delays dues to another (!!) blood transfusion and some negotiating with my platelets, I got my last dose of carboplatin.  Hopefully the last I will have in my entire life.  My CA-125 is down to 7 and I’m starting to really look ahead at what the next few months hold for me.  I’m excited to say I’ll be picking up some work at my old Planned Parenthood stomping grounds.  Chris and I will be moving to a new place.  We’re in line to get a puppy delivered to us from Arkansas in a few weeks.  I can’t wait to get back on the treadmill and when the snow and ice melt away, get back on my bike and climb up some of these lovely East Haddam hills.  I’ll be keeping myself pretty busy until I head back up to medical school.

For now?  I’m playing my shiny new accordion…I’ll put up a video when I can actually play something other than Jingle Bells, which let’s be real, no one wants to hear.

Penny, my lovely accordion model

I’ve also started this 2,000 piece puzzle that was gifted to me, but I think I’m losing some steam on it.  2,000 pieces is like, a lot of pieces it turns out and I don’t really have room for it – it’s behind our sofa and I sit sort of scrunched up in the corner.

a lot of pieces...not so many assembled

Here’s a photo of the desperate measures we had to take against a major leak the other night.  Just for fun.

it's fixed now...

I wish I had more exciting news.  I will soon I hope.  I’ll soon be posting all about clear CT scans and the hair I have growing out.  I’ve got a slew of doctor’s appointments in the coming weeks, including genetic testing (!) so that’ll provide some blog fodder.  For now, I’m dormant.  Struggling to get my car re-registered in the state of CT (back taxes, insurance compliance, temp plates, emissions test…) and packing books in boxes doesn’t make for excellent blogging.

Hang in there readers, there’ll be more blog action soon!

6 Responses to “Homestretch”

  1. Emily February 8, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    Congrats on finishing your chemo Colleen!! I can’t imagine how excited you are to return to your old life! But you know blog posts are hurtin when you start writing about car inspections and leaky houses. DO you think you’ll keep blogging after this whole cancer thing is done and over?

  2. Liza Kerrigan February 8, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Glad to hear of life in all it’s mundane ordinary-ness!…….But I appreciate the message behind all of that……..”It’s a good thing!” California has similar hurdles to getting cars re-registered. And, if you wait till the last minute (like me) you are standing in line at the DMV for 8 hours!
    You are, as always, the most courageous, determined (little girl) I know.

    xxoo

  3. Marg February 8, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    I’m with Liza, bring on the bore! Good luck with your move. I like this transition, chemo ending, new place, new puppy, spring! Go ahead and post the video of Jingle Bells, we will all love it!

  4. Barbara Call February 8, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Hi Coleen honey: it’s a transitional time, the body, the house, the winter, the car ~ looks like the dog’s got THE LIFE! I’m so thrilled you’re coming down the home stretch with the chemotherapy, they’ve got some nerve calling it “therapy”. We’re doing some of the same things over here in California (well, the moving part) in a different temperature zone and you’re not in shape for me to gloat over it. As people always say “Connecticut is SO Beautiful! You are SO Beautiful. Hey, I’ve got a interview lined up in SanFrancisco this Friday; wanna write me a character referencel?, you’re quite good with words. bccallbarbara@gmail.com

  5. Chris Jarvis February 16, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    Thanks for the update…I’ve been thinking of you and didn’t know about this site (thanks Merle!). You sound great (as always) and you know all of us here are pulling for you! and that puppy may rival Elsie for cuteness!

    • thezebrachronicles February 21, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

      SO good to hear from you, chris! i’ve been meaning to write you an email for like, months now. things are settling down here post-chemo, so keep an eye out for an email from me. hopefully they’re be some puppy pictures attached

Leave a Reply

