…And Then I Don’t Feel So Bad

17 Jan

Because Carboplatin makes me feel so lousy, I thought I’d take the opportunity to make a list of a few of my favorite things at the moment as much for my benefit as yours. See, the Zofran and Compazine keep me from actually puking, which is great, but I still spend a lot of time feeling generally barfy. I make myself eat because I have to, and then whatever I just ate transmutes into the most repulsive thing in the world because it only makes me feel barfier. For example, I ate blameless, plain ol’ chicken and now the smell of chicken is revolting because it reminds me of feeling barfy. The medication additionally heightens my sense of smell so that even what my neighbors are cooking is offensive.

On top of this, my poor mom broke her wrist really badly this past weekend. She is having surgery tonight, Monday, to get a titanium plate and some screws put in. We’re all in need of a little pick me up. Lists, especially of things I like, always pick me up.

1. Downton Abbey


I love to get my manor house on and this PBS series is really satisfying my appetite for electricity jokes, Maggie Smith and nefarious footmen.

2. Cleopatra by Stacy Schiff


I love biographies and this one is knocking my Hellenic socks off.

4. Penny running around in the snow and then collapsing RIGHT in front of our heater

5. The Hohner Bravo II 48 Bass accordion I just bought.

Yeah. I’ve wanted to get an accordion for over a year and now I have it. I rule.

6. This fantastic ginger ale

7. Oh yeah. And this guy. And all my really wonderful family and friends.

he's wearing that trash bag thing because that's what came with our hair clippers...

Alright, you all out there in cyberspace, I haven’t done this on the blog before, but here’s my request: Post in the comments section what your favorite things are right now…what’s getting you through the month of January?

14 Responses to “…And Then I Don’t Feel So Bad”

  1. Barbara Call January 17, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Hi Colleen Dahling: Our favorite things today in January:

    the beach at Santa Cruz with the lovely rolling waves with surfers on top,

    wilbur hot springs down a dirt road in up in the old mountains carved out by volcanic action,

    my border collie, Xena’s smile when she’s having fun

    my son, John is moving out in 12 days, but who’s counting

    vermont maple syrup

    my best friends and my best friend’s kids. Here’s looking at your and your sweetie too. he’s the best isn’t he ~ sorry about the barfy deal

  2. Susan Hitt January 17, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    Hmmm, how about:
    **. Playing my flute
    **. Watching a great fire in the fireplace
    ** A great pair of cozy, warm socks
    **. Watching the curls grow back after my sons buzz cut
    **. Remembering funny times with friends and family

  3. Amanda B January 17, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    (This is Amanda from school)

    *Watching my little dog try to jump through the snow

    *The light, fluffy snow where you can see ever individual flake

    *Longer days

    *And lastly, grapefruits are finally on sale 🙂

  4. Sara January 17, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    Unfortunately we have our first attacks and defenses exam tomorrow, which we have all been forewarned about and are quite frightened… so a little hot chocolate and bailey’s while studying in my long-johns has been great! Also loving making homemade sweet potato chips lately 🙂
    Sorry to hear the current drugs aren’t going over so well. Hope you can get off from them soon and feel better!

  5. mjr January 17, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    – fun things that are also within walking distance
    – dog owners who let you pet their dogs for a really long time and patiently answer your questions about them
    – rereading your favorite YA books
    – exciting bourgeoisie fizzy drinks

  6. Liza January 17, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    Favorites in no particular order:
    Lukas (and all related babies in our family)
    conversations that push expectations to a new place
    my studio
    sitting under the wysteria with company
    sound of the ocean
    flowers on a table
    fresh tomatoes and oranges from the garden
    work built as envisioned & looks good!
    my bed
    Connecticut (as I have it in my mind)
    Netflix
    Lighting fields

  7. Emily January 18, 2011 at 5:05 am #

    My favorite things right now:
    -The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo Trilogy
    -Living on the ocean
    -Pure, unadulterated booey time every day
    -Disaronno Amaretto
    -The Reeses Peanut Butter X Mas Trees my mom mailed me

    We’ve been here in Spain since September. Though we have projects that we’re both working on, I miss getting up and going to work (not every day, but at least 2 days a week). I also miss having some semblance of a social life. My idea of a big day out here is going to have lunch with a bunch of Spanish retirees. We leave Feb 12th to go to Argentina for 2 months and then once we come back it will be summer and we’ll have friends and family visiting. So not that I’m not enjoying myself now, but I’m really excited to go to Argentina. So to power my way through January I’ve been watching the Sopranos (worst written show in history, but I’ve got slim pickings at the library here), taking painting classes, and reading.

  8. Emily January 18, 2011 at 5:10 am #

    PS. I totally just felt like Oprah compiling my list of favorite things. So with that, I share this:

  9. Jonathan January 18, 2011 at 5:40 am #

    Hey, you left out #3! You jipped us a favorite thing, I feel cheated.

    May I propose one that you might agree with? It’s currently just 27 days until pitchers & catchers report for duty, the unofficial American holiday that always makes winter seem that-much-closer to ending. Before you know it…2011 baseball 🙂

  10. Marg January 18, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    Soup: I love soup in the winter and am currently trying different borscht recipes – looking for that perfect beet and cabbage soup!

    Knitting- so nice to knit in the winter and have whatever I am knitting warm my lap.

    Sewing – starting a new play set in the early eighties. Lots of shoulder pads!

    Football – The Eagles are done and I don’t have to listen to Uncle Bob grumble at the TV for three hours/week.

    Snow Days- even though there aren’t kids in the house anymore I still love to listen to the school closings, because is there anything more fun for a child?

    Your blog: This blog actually reminded me of a Psych 101 lecture I had freshman year of college. Your are experiencing Taste Aversion, which is actually related to Classical Conditioning. Your blogs always stimulate me intellectually, and move me to thankfulness, wonder, tears, and always admiration of your spirit.

  11. Debbie Orcutt January 18, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    What’s getting me through January? lol…each day we are closer to spring! My favorite things right now are checking the mail, going to the recycle to get more books and hanging with the dogs.

  12. Corinne January 18, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Hello my lovely! January. is. brutal. for us all. Here are a few midwinter blues-busters I’ve been relying on down in the District. In no particular order:

    1)white twinkle lights. they make any space feel warm and cozy. and they’re totally non denominational
    2) hot toddies
    3) hot aromatherapy booties. don’t dis it til you’ve tried it http://www.uncommongoods.com/product/herbal-resting-booties
    4)dancing around the house to this : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iWOyfLBYtuU&ob=av2el
    5)Found instruments and kitchen jam sessions
    6)climbing into a bed of fresh flannel sheets
    7)fluffing my pillows and smushing my head into them, only to repeat ad infinitum
    8)Foam rolling
    9)belly-laughing as loudly as possible at whatever feels good
    10)pulling on this really great pair of black leather frilly gloves I bought for myself. I can be wearing pjs and my slipper boots and still feel tres chic walking to the corner store for TP.

    xo
    bunny

  13. EReid January 20, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    Hi pal–
    January is a toughie, so I like your call for audience participation here–reading other peeps lists is inspiring! For me, it’s all about:

    -binge watching certain football inspired tv shows and daydreaming about riding through Tejas w/ you and the girls

    -being in the retox phase of my post-holiday diet where I drink beers and eat wings for dinner

    -knowing that my slowcooker is taking care of making dinner for me as I type–yay robots!

    -Waiting in GLEEFUL anticipation for a youtube clip/ sound byte post of you with that KILLER accordion. WAY TO BE, champ! I loooooove it!

    xoxoxoxox miss you to the supermaxxxxx

  14. Karina January 27, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    Here is a list of things I like to do in the winter/specifically January to keep on keepin on:

    1. Making lists. I am really into lists, for example lists about fun things I will do in the winter. Or things I need to get accomplished during the day/week/forseeable future.

    2. Working on a quilt I am giving as a gift to a girlfriend, it is done and pretty!

    3. Knitting and not actually making anything, just for the fun of knitting while watching TV or chatting.

    4. Indoor physical activities such as racquetball, Bikram yoga classes, working out at the gym.

    5. Improving my tennis game in my head by thinking about it and occasionally taking swings as if I had a racket in hand.

    6. Getting excited about the trip to see Jasmine in a warm, sunny place! I need my Vit D. I also may have already secured tickets to the Price is Right.

    7. Accepting that it is cold and snowy and reminding myself I like somethings about winter, like root vegetable dinners and taking on domestic projects like sewing and knitting and reading a lot and wearing smart wool and spandex everywhere and that is totally OK. And I love my boots. And I had my colors done and I am a “Deep Winter” so really I need to make the most out of this season, because this is when I can wear all my colors! A wardrobe half made up of greys and blacks doesn’t look so cute when it is 75 and sunny out and everyone is wearing peachy tones. Sicilians do not wear peachy colors. We wear black colors.

    8. Yo February is the shortest month, and the days are getting longer and then daylight savings happens! We can do this 🙂

Leave a Reply

