Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow

12 Nov

Alright. So you saw that post title coming from a mile away. Sorry about that.

We did it!  We buzzed my head!  Within a few weeks I’ll be totally bald but buzz-cut makes that process a bit easier on everyone. This way there won’t be long clumps of hair in our coffee or tons of these chemo tumbleweeds snarled up in every corner. The drains in our bathtubs and sinks will be spared. I won’t have to look like Cousin It. It’s better.

Having my hair start to really fall out was tough. I thought I was looking forward to it, but it was pretty shocking the first time I shampooed my head and my hands came away full of hair. And it doesn’t stop. It’s not like, oh good, got out all the hair that’s going to fall out today, phew. Every time I touch my hair a clump comes out. I’m not so upset about how I’ll look bald, I think it’s kind of cool, but it made me feel really unwell to have chunks of hair just falling out all over the place. I don’t like feeling sick. It’s not even the cancer that makes my hair fall out, it’s the treatment, but having my hair jump ship is not exactly a sign of health and well-being. It’s like having your teeth come loose and fall out.

I’m curious about what it’s going to be like to be out in public now, without my hair. Will random people say things to me? I’ve heard pregnant people complain about strangers touching their belly – will strangers give me inappropriate encouragement hugs and shoulder squeezes? Meaningful arm pats? Will people let me cut them in line? Give me free stuff? Will I get a lot of pitying looks? Will every interaction I have out and about in the world now be in terms of my cancer? Because of my cancer? I’m not just buying this 50 pack of toilet paper on sale…I’m buying it AND I HAVE CANCER. I’m not just walking my dog dressed like a homeless person because I’m lazy…I’m walking my dog dressed like this BECAUSE I HAVE CANCER. I’ll let you guys know how that goes…

So here are some photos of the buzzing process. We had fun. Chris did a great job and our esteemed photographer, Erika, took some great photos/videos.

 
Chris, looking confident with the clippers….


Obviously we should have left it like this…


An outfit change was required on account of all the hair!

Oh woops, that’s not me…that’s my little brother…we just look so much alike now!


Yep, there’s my little bro again…we look badass…

6 Responses to “Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow”

  1. Barbara Call November 12, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    Only a Kerrigan could look so cute, hairless…remember trip as a total baby? That photo of him with the round head, John with the pointy head and you with a good head on your shoulders even then. LOVE

  2. Liza November 12, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    Okay…the more he takes off the more the familial resemblance is revealed! Love the pics of Trip, especially the first one. One has to blink twice when looking. I think I need to rush out and get my hair cut as short as yours after the first phase…I liked that….and since I see it on you, I know it will work on me…we have that same cheeky, dimpled grin.
    I have to say you still look so, so, so adorable Colleen……this shaving of head agrees w/ you. And…BTW- You and Michael Douglas have the same “grin ” around the mouth.That is where the resemblance ends for me…….
    All my love to you!
    Chris rocks for helping…….

  3. Emily November 12, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    Colleen! You look mad hot as a buzzed woman! ROCK IT!!

  4. Vanessa November 12, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    you pull off the short hair well Colleen!! Beautiful!

  5. Jasmine Stine November 15, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    WHY DIDN’T YOU LEAVE THE ANIME FRONT BANGS!??!! sheesh.

    • Mama-Zebra November 15, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

      cuz’ they couldn’t last darlin, they couldn’t last…

Leave a Reply

