Port Authority

3 Nov

Well, the port is in. It’s a neat but strange little device and it only took half an hour or so to put in. The doctor who did the procedure was a very nice interventional radiologist. Before the procedure they had to tape my boob down flat, so that was interesting. They also covered me up with a sheet, making a little tent, so they could make a nice sterile field and so I couldn’t see what they were doing. I didn’t really feel much, they gave me some Lidocaine and Versed. I think it must take a bit of effort to get the port in place because they had to do a good bit of stuffing and shoving, but at least it didn’t hurt. I’d say the one downside is that I can’t shower for a week. Ick. Oh, and I had to sleep sitting upright last night…like the elephant man.

At this point I’m just tired of feeling unwell. I’m bored and this whole cancer thing is getting old. It was kind of fun at first, but I’m done. I’m ready to get back to my normal life. I don’t do well with this whole sitting around thing. I actually miss medical school but it takes all the energy I’ve got to walk the dog around the block. That and my capacity for emotional stimuli is maxed out by episodes of Say Yes to the Dress. Wah-wah-wah. Here’s a list I’m developing of things to do and look forward to:

– Knitting; I’ve rekindled my interest and have learned how to cable, I’m also going to learn yarns overs and how to make socks
– Read Moby Dick because I never have
– Make extravagant and elaborate three course meals and bake luxurious and complicated baked goods
– Learn more about ancient Egypt
– Play chess

That’s all I’ve got so far. But I’m open to suggestions. When chemo is over I’m looking forward to a fabulous vacation somewhere and getting my zebra tattoo. I’m looking into volunteering at the Yale Smilow Cancer Hospital, I’d really like to help out with the pediatric patients, but I can’t decide if the patients would be terrified by a volunteer that also has cancer, or delighted. I’m going to give them a call, see what they think.

I hope everyone had a good Halloween, I can’t believe it’s November already. My hair is still hanging in there, I may just be shedding a big more than usual, but nothing dramatic. We did buy a set of clippers though…buzz buzz buzz….I promise a photo as soon as the hair goes. For now, back to trashy daytime television!

9 Responses to “Port Authority”

  1. Jonathan November 3, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    The Elephant Man slept standing up? I didn’t realize that…I really need to see that movie, it’s about the only Lynch I’ve never seen.

    Also…I brought “Moby Dick” to Spain too! I looked at it as my equivalent what-should-I-do-with-so-much-time book. We should read it at the same time, that’d be fun.

    • thezebrachronicles November 3, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

      yes, he had to sleep sitting up so he could breathe…I had to sleep sitting up so my new port wouldn’t bleed. it’s a good movie to watch when you need that “well, it could be worse” feeling, which I enjoy 🙂 let’s definitely do a trans-Atlantic Moby Dick bookclub. I would LOVE that!!

  2. Michelle November 3, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    I think this calls for Netflix! Hang in there, I love your posts, check the site all the time for updates. Have you read Crime & Punishment or Brothers Karamazov? Those are both good (time consuming) reads!

  3. sara November 3, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    SPOILER ALERT

    Moby Dick is kinda boring. Well at least compared to Skaarsgard.

  4. Barbara Call November 3, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    Hey Coleen: Good lord, what you go through and now that the novelty has gone out of this experience, at least you’ve got your sense of humor to see you through the rests. As you know, the neurological benefits of knitting have done wonders for me and can now say I’ve done scarfs around the globe ~ socks leveled me, hmmm….maybe hats for you. Certainly hats off to you for keeping everyone close in blog ~ each thought is a prayer, so they say and I think about you all the time. Love, Barb

  5. Nancy November 3, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    Hi Coleen, I have a bunch of scarves that were given to me when I went through Chemo and lost my hair. I just wore scarves cause I wasn’t into wigs. If you want them I would gladly pass them on to you. Let me know what you think and if you do want them how can I get them to you.

    Love
    Nancy

  6. Ben Ware November 4, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    I vote for browsing the ENTIRE internet. Let me know when you finish 😉

    You will probably learn MUCH more than I will here up at school.

  7. julia marko November 4, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    oh, i get it ‘sleeping upright’ = sitting, not standing, right? i was confused. i can bring you a wheelbarrow full of books if you get bored of moby dick. i have the jenna jameson autobiography.

  8. Karina November 10, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    Things to do to pass the time in a productive way:

    1) Make a quilt! You can start small because they get unweildly. Like a lap blanket. Or a blanket for Penny or for small people. It is really time consuming and the whole time you are engaging in some mental and physical task. And in the end you have a beautiful thing that you made and can use!

    2) Read a really nerdy series of fantasy books before Game of Thrones comes out on HBO- next spring HBO is airing a show based on George R. R. Martin’s epic 7 books series A Song of Fire and ice or something similarly nerdy. But they are super epic and you won’t be able to put them down and they are long and heavy so it will also be like exercising.

    3) Read the entire canon of Jane Austin. This summer I finished the last novel I hadn’t read yet- Northanger Abbey. Not like it was great, but I’ll take whatever JA I can get.

    4) You can start learning how to knit skolastur before you knit socks- skolastur are slipper socks from the Faroe Islands that you wear around the house over your socks and they are awesome, and pretty easy to make. I can show you if you are in Somers over Thanksgiving.

    5)Read cookbooks and design elaborate menus for future dinner parties.

    6) Craft a solution to the Israel-Palestine conflict.

Leave a Reply

