Restored Appetite

27 Oct

The Ball Game

Thanks for the birthday wishes everyone! Twenty-five and staying alive. No, really, I spent my birthday actually working towards that goal by getting chemo. My appointment was a pretty uneventful three hours. My Dad drove me to the doctor’s and for breakfast, I ate most of the birthday chocolates he brought me. We sped a bit on 95 to get to my appointment because, well, number one we were a little late and number two, what, are we going to get a ticket? We just tell the officer I have cancer, right? It wasn’t an all bad birthday. I chatted with some interesting people at chemo, hung out with my dad, and Chris drove 50 minutes round trip to get me the good Indian food take-out for dinner. He even stopped on the way home to pick up salt & vinegar potato chips.

In non-cancer news I am digging the World Series. I understand that baseball, as a sport, is “standing up to cancer”, and that’s nice, but it’s not why I’m enjoying the game. I feel nothing for the Giants or the Rangers, so I’m just kicking back and savoring some unencumbered baseball. Thomas Boswell once wrote that “There are oceans of satisfaction, seas of restored appetite, in as a humble a thing as a baseball season.” I have to agree. I was enjoying the smoldering close-ups of pre-pitch Cliff Lee and some of those pitches he threw were just beautiful. A short while later I enjoyed watching the Giants start lighting him up. And Buster Posey? Best baseball name of the year? The Lincecum wunderkind is a joy to behold. I googled Cliff Lee and apparently a lot of people think he looks like Hugh Laurie…thoughts?

I have to admit I don’t know a TON about baseball. I can keep up in a conversation. Usually. If the other participants are patient and forgiving and have had a few beers. I know that I like to watch pitchers bat even though I’m an American League kinda girl. I know that even though I’m not a Yankee fan, watching Nick Swisher pitch against Tampa Bay in 2009 was one of my favorite baseball moments. That and Jacoby Ellsbury stealing home. I like Jonathan Papelbon. And Kevin Youkilis. I will miss Mike Lowell. Bull Durham is one of my favorite movies. Oh and Roy Halladay throw that post-season no-hitter a few weeks ago was pretty thrilling. I decided to interpret it as a good omen.

What I lack in knowledge, I make up for in commentary about the crowd, observations about how the butts and thighs of various players look in their uniforms and adherence to weird baseball superstitions I picked up from my dad (if your team is winning, you can’t change the channel, but if they are losing, you must scroll through the channels in order). I know the game well enough, but the bottom line is that I believe in baseball. I relish baseball. I love ball parks and the faces baseball players make and the fact that I can read while watching a game. I know major league baseball has gotten all out of control with the monies and advertisements and egos and ‘roids and sushi at yankee stadium…but I still love the game. I’m really looking forward to getting back up to Vermont and getting into a Lake Monsters game for free with my hospital ID, bringing a book, getting a beer and watching the sun go down over the lake during a game.

I leave you with another of my favorite baseball moments. The pizza throw heard ‘round the world.

5 Responses to “Restored Appetite”

  1. lisa October 28, 2010 at 12:12 am #

    I just caught up on your blog posts as a birthday tribute to you and nearly wet myself twice (the description of your vomit at the Ramada and the reference to David after dentist). You really have more humanity than anyone I’ve ever met! WIshing you much strength and humor and love in the coming year!

    • thezebrachronicles October 28, 2010 at 12:22 am #

      thanks, lisa! you’re such a wonderful writer yourself and great clinician! your feedback and encouragement mean a lot to me. thank-you!

  2. Jonathan October 28, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    Baseball rules. Also, shockingly–and I mean that literally, I was fundamentally shocked by this–the sushi at Yankee Stadium is actually pretty good (spoken as someone with very high standards for sushi, who almost exclusively orders conventional lowbrow “ballpark food”). (Also, its “Jonathan” Papelbon…not Jason.)

    Can’t think of a rookie who came up this year with a better name than Buster Posey, but amongst current players I’m still a fan of Coco Crisp. Neither, however, hold a candle to my all-time favorite…former Yankee pitcher Urban Shocker.

    • thezebrachronicles October 28, 2010 at 8:22 am #

      See what I mean when I say I need my fellow baseball conversants to be understanding of my shortcomings 🙂 Haha, note that I immediately fixed that, how embarrassing. I could chalk it up to chemo brain, but I’d probably have said it anyway. My mom said the sushi at Yankee stadium was really good too!

  3. marion haupert October 31, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    Coleen
    Just talked to Greg and he told us what you are going through. Please let us know if we can be any help. Your attitude is wondeful and I know Chris will be a great support to you. Marion and Garner

Leave a Reply

