Franken-belly

12 Oct

So, first of all, thanks to everyone who said something nice to me. To everyone who left a comment, or sent me a message on facebook or texted me or visited, thanks. It matters. When I read your comment or message or whatever, I didn’t think about cancer for a minute and I enjoyed that.

Like my Mom said in her post, we are now just waiting for my pathology report to come back. Apparently the fact that it is taking longer than normal to come back is a good thing. My cancer cells still look like ovary cells. They’re still pretty differentiated and haven’t morphed into rogue, creepy anonymous cancer cells that can spread to all corners of my body. This is a good thing.

I did get to take an exciting trip to the emergency room over the weekend thanks to some unexpected bleeding. I spent four hours there with my mom, hanging out with the toddlers with head wounds and stuff. Everything turned out alright, we think I have a leaky hematoma – super cute. I hadn’t been to the ER in a really long time. Not since I got in a silly and pouty fight with Chris in Massachusetts a few years ago. It was maybe 1 AM and I tried to grab my bag out of his car and walk off in a huff, but instead I walked over a patch of black ice (I like to think it was black ice at least, it makes me sound less clutzy). I took a classic banana peel spill and tried to break my fall with my hands, spraining my wrist something awful. Chris drove me to the ER.

As promised, a picture of my incision. I was going to try to figure out how to hide this behind a link so that people didn’t have to look at it if they didn’t want to, but I’m not wordpress savvy enough and am not motivated to become wordpress savvy right now. I also show my incision to everyone I can because I think it’s pretty cool. I say “I can show you if you want” and then show it without waiting for a reply.

This was taken about 5 days after my surgery. On the right, you can see my lint collecting estrogen patch and on the left, the little red marks where the nurses gave me shots of blood thinner. On the inside, the incision goes up a couple of inches farther, skin is stretchy so they don’t have to cut it as much. The incision goes down a little farther too, but I’m not putting pubes on this blog. I’d like to tell you it looks better now, but it sort of just looks the same. I will have a pretty excellent scar I think, one I can boast proudly about. Check back later, Chris is trying to photoshop this photo to make it look like a proper Franken-belly, you know green with bolts sticking out the sides and stuff.

8 Responses to “Franken-belly”

  1. Nory October 12, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    Big hugs sweet pie!!! It looks pretty cool, may be if I can make a trip to see you and can see yours in person and I’ll show you mine!! lol Cuidate mucho!!!!

  2. Michelle Mazzotta October 12, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    Hey lady! Just wanted to let you know I’m thinking about you! I’m sending you positive vibes everyday; Corinne has been keeping me updated. I’d love to see you, I’m in Somers a lot since I live so close. Btw, your incision will definitely win the “bitchin scar award” 🙂

  3. Jen October 12, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    colleen, your scar is awesome!!!! thank you for not showing us your pubes.

    smooches,
    jen

  4. Sara October 12, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    Hi Colleen,

    Glad to see you are still in good spirits (or at least still able to make good jokes that have me laughing out loud). Love the “cute hematoma” – may be the only time I ever hear a hematoma referred to in such a nice, personified way. Also glad to hear that your tumor cells are still baby ovaries and thus much less destructive! Good luck with the start of Chemo, I hope side effects are minimal and that you are recovering from surgery quickly! Awesome scar by the way…
    ps I think you should request to keep those pathology slides to study in histo next year, or maybe render them to Dr. Cornbrooks for extra credit, or even a high pass bribe… just an idea 🙂

  5. Irene October 12, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    Look out Justin Timberlake- YOU are brinigng sexy back!!!
    I have an old engagment ring (or two) we could have made in to kick ass belly button rings for you……
    You are (seriously) one of – if not THE- most beaustiful women I know know!!!
    Keep on doing what you are doing and keep on inspiring me to stop whining about the mamby pamby shit that goes on!!
    I LOVE YOU!!!

  6. Liz Robison October 12, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    I LOVE that you want to show everyone your scar! It reminds me of my one scary stint in the hospital. Nothing like your current experience, but after a week in the hospital and nobody knowing what was wrong with my painful and clearly infected belly-insides, I was taken into the OR for “exploratory surgery.” It was a ruptured appendix after all of that – a wonderfully anticlimactic diagnosis! Anyways, sources tell me (I was on a lot of drugs at the time) that when I was being wheeled from post-op to my room I showed my new scar, dangerously close to my girl-parts, to anyone and everyone (I mean orderlies, people in hallway, etc). And I was saying something along the lines of “wanna see it?!?” Leave it to us creepy med students to be so oddly infatuated with our bodies – good or bad.

    Glad to hear you are hanging in there…hope the next few days pass quickly.

  7. claire October 13, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Colleen, I thought I had left you a long message about how all my scars are bigger than yours….but, I can’t seem to find it?? Oh well, we are all thinking of you and sending positive thoughts and lots of love!!!

  8. Erika Boulware October 15, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    Colleen,
    I love you truly, madly, and tenderly. And now I will love your scar that way, too.
    – E

Leave a Reply

